Robert B. Parker’s Classic Spenser and Jesse Stone Detective Series

Rober B Parker pic

Rober B Parker

A physician with the NorthShore University HealthSystem in Evanston, Illinois, Dr. Morris Kharasch guides emergency patient care spanning four departments. An avid reader, Dr. Morris Kharasch particularly enjoys Tom Clancy’s thrillers and the Jesse Stone series. Written by Robert B. Parker, the Jesse Stone books are the work of a prolific author who penned approximately 70 books across four decades prior to his death in 2010.

Following a varied career that spanned military service and technical writing, Parker began writing fiction in earnest in his early 40s, with his first four books focusing on Spenser, who was considered by many as a throwback to an earlier era of crime novels. Passionate about the classic American detective story, Parker authored his doctoral dissertation on Dashiell Hammett, Raymond Chandler, and Ross MacDonald. In 1989, he had the honor of being selected to complete the last, unfinished Philip Marlowe novel Poodle Springs.

Parker conceptualized Jesse Stone late in his career, as a homicide detective from California who leaves behind an alcoholic past to create a new life as police chief in small-town New England. The character has proved a durable one and spawned an ongoing series of TV movies. The continued popularity of Parker’s novels has even led to new Spenser and Jesse Stone books being written after his passing.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s